New Zealand Election Study
Election Studies Analysis Research Contacts

About the 2008 NZES

The principal researchers are:
Jack Vowles,
Susan Banducci,
Jeffrey Karp,
University of Exeter
Raymond Miller,
Ann Sullivan,
Jennifer Curtin,
University of Auckland

The 2008 Election Study

The 2008 election was held on November 8. The result was a change of government from a Labour-led to a National-led government. The 2008 Election Study includes module 3 of the Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES) programme. The dataset contains 3042 respondents, of whom 636 are an oversample from the seven Maori electorates. Part of the data is a three-wave panel to 2002 (948 respondents). Among the freshly-sampled respondents, the response rate was about 40 per cent. Support predominantly came from various sources within the University of Auckland and the Electoral Commission, with some further funding from the University of Houston, the New Zealand Treasury, and AUT University.

Tabular data is available on a cost-recovery basis for those who wish to contact the collaborators.

Copyright © 1990-2020 New Zealand Election Study. All rights reserved.
Site design by Creative Element